Sources of Air Pollutants - Ozone and Photochemical Oxidants

Article Index


Ozone and Photochemical Oxidants

Ozone is not a pollutant directly emitted into the air from particular activities characteristic of urban or industrial areas, and can, therefore, be referred to as a secondary pollutant. Ozone and other photochemical oxidants (such as peroxyacyl nitrates and aldehydes) are formed by the action of ultra-violet (UV) light from the sun on nitrogen oxides (a process called photolysis). Its production and concentration is dependent on the presence of primary pollutants as well as ultra-violet light. In the presence of volatile organic compounds, high concentrations of ozone are formed.
This type of pollution first gained attention during the 1940's as Los Angeles smog. Now this smog is described in terms of its photochemical oxidant composition, which includes ozone and is termed 'photochemical smog'.
 
Ozone and Solar Radiation
Ozone is formed primarily through the action of UV light, and so it could be expected that high concentrations would occur during the days with high solar radiation and when other meteorological conditions (e.g. low wind speed, restricted upward movement of air pollutants) are not favourable for the dispersion of air pollutants. This relationship between ozone formation and solar radiation is illustrated by the ozone levels which occurred in Kwai Chung on 10 July 1994. This can be seen in the graph below.
 mg0001.gif 
The diurnal variation of the pollutant levels on this very special day started off with the background levels of nitrogen oxides and ozone. Automobile and industrial activities began at around 6 am and had the initial effect of increasing the nitric oxide. The concentration decreased fairly rapidly in the morning as the high solar radiation, which intensified and peaked around 11 am, enabled the photochemical oxidation of the nitric oxide to nitrogen dioxide to occur. The concentration of nitrogen dioxide reached a peak at about 1 pm and decreased slightly in favour of ozone, which reached a peak concentration at about 2-3 pm. As the solar radiation intensity diminished in the evening, the photochemical formation of elevated air pollution level ceased and the ozone level dropped to its background concentration by about 8 pm.

Mobile Version | Desktop Version
Last revision date:00:06 24-11-2017

空氣污染物 - 臭氧及光化學氧化劑

文章索引


臭氧及光化學氧化劑

 

   臭氧並非由市區或工業區某些特別工序所直接導致排放於大氣中,因此只能視為一種次生污染物。臭氧及其他光化學氧化劑(例如過氧鉟基硝酸鹽類及甲醛),是由太陽的紫外光與氮氧化物 產生作用(稱為光解作用)而形成。它的生成和濃度與初生污染物及紫外線有直接關係。在揮發性有機化合物的存在時,會產生高濃度的臭氧。

 


 

臭氧和太陽輻射

   臭氧主要由紫外光作用生成,因此可想而知當白天有強烈太陽輻射,而其他氣象條件(例如低風速,空氣污染物向上移動受到限制)不利於污染物擴散時,便會形成高濃度的臭氧。這種臭氧的形成與太陽輻射的關係可以透過1994年7月10日葵涌的臭氧水準來展示。下圖可見一斑。

 img0001.gif 

 

   在這一天內,污染物水準的日夜間變化由氮氧化物及臭氧的背景水平開始可見。早上6時汽車和工業活業開始運作,因而首先增加一氧化氮濃度。但它的濃度在早上相當迅速消失,由於太陽輻射在11時漸次加強至最高點,致使一氧化氮透過光化學氧化作用生成二氧化氮,它的濃度在下午1時最高,然後徐徐消退,利便臭氧的生成,而臭氧在約2-3時濃度最高。當太陽輻射在黃昏減弱時,光化學作用所生成偏高的污染物水平開始下降,而臭氧水平亦在晚上約8時降至其背景濃度。


手機版本 | 桌面版本
最近更新時間:04:06 21-11-2017